Answering Questions - Recent Neurosurgery Graduate

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xf3rn4nd3sx

NSURG
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, everyone! I'm currently in my first year of private practice (so, I guess I didn't graduate that recently) and would be happy to answer any questions any residents/med students/pre-meds may have about the specialty/lifestyle/etc during and after residency. I've been browsing these forums for several years, but only recently made an account (last year). I've been meaning to this for a while to give back to the community, so feel free to ask anything.

(I'll probably be going to sleep shortly, but will answer any questions posted tomorrow!)

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I had previously posted this in the neurosurgery forum, but felt it may be more useful to viewers considering all realms of surgery:

Hey, everyone! I'm currently in my first year of private practice (so, I guess I didn't graduate that recently) and would be happy to answer any questions any residents/med students/pre-meds may have about the specialty/lifestyle/etc during and after residency. I've been browsing these forums for several years, but only recently made an account (last year). I've been meaning to this for a while to give back to the community, so feel free to ask anything.

(I'll probably be going to sleep shortly, but will answer any questions posted tomorrow!)

Congrats for graduation. My question is about lifestyle. I know there is no lifestyle in surgery fields but I want to know how much time you have for your family, habits...etc. I know it is variable from program to another. Also, what about daily schedule. When you start and leave? how many hours/week?
May I know your answer and if you can tell us about your program Academic/community. Approximate rank like top 10 or 20.

Members don't see this ad :)