Any advice on how to begin studying for COMPLEX I?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

peiyueng

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a 1st year med student just completed my first year. After two weeks of vocation, I am thinking about studying for COMPLEX I, just wondering if anyone out there got any good advice for me. Thanks.
( I know I should enjoy my last summer, but can't help to worry about the board)

[This message has been edited by peiyueng (edited June 17, 1999).]

Members don't see this ad.

My advice to you is to relax. Enjoy your time off. You won't be getting alot of it in the future. I started studying in March and scored in the 90th percentile. Studying now is only going to add to your stress load. The first year of med school is very traumatic, so take the time off and let your body relax.

Peiyueng,

I will assume you mean COMLEX Part 1 not COMPLEX...<laughing>. As was previously stated, enjoy your summer. My wife and I had a great time between my first and second years at WesternU (it was COMP then). Stop worrying about the boards! I don't know how many times I tell people that. I didn't start studying until the end of GI system. Everyone complains that 2 1/2 weeks isn't enough time to syudy but it is! I had 2.85 GPA and the end of my second year getting "C's" in the big systems of Neurosensory, Cardiovascular and GI system. I was ranked 110 our of 170 and I scored in the top 1/3 on part 1 of the boards. All I did to study was use "First Aid for the USMLE". I felt that everything was a REVIEW. The OMM final a month prior should prepare you for the OPP sections of the boards.