Any advice would be much appreciated - 3.58 cGPA, 3.52 sGPA, 32 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HersheLayton

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hey guys, just wanted to know what if anyone could help me decide what a good list of schools would be for applications, and how decent you think my chances are.

I'm a Nevada resident

I know my GPA isn't as strong as I'd like to be at 3.58 cGPA, 3.52 sGPA

I have 3 C's on my transcript

I took the mcat twice, last July I got a 25 (PS 8 VR 8 BS 9) and
this past January i retook it and got a 32 (PS 12 VR 10 BS 10)

I have three years experience as a tutor at an elementary school and as a teacher for homeless children at a shelter

I also volunteered at a hospital for two years in high school with 250+ hours (don't know if that is t00 old to be acknowledged?) as well as for the past two years at another hospital which I am currently still with.

Started shadowing last summer and went on and off. Still doing it now about once a week.

No lab research but I worked with a doctor last summer and we published a clinical research poster that was on display at the ACG 2011 Annual Scientific Meeting in D.C

Last but not least I have been a part of the American Medical Student Association for the past three years, the last year of which I have been a humanitarian officer.

Not sure how the package is overall but any feedback would be fantastic. Tips for allopathic schools that allow a more generous percentage of out of state matriculants close to my scores would be much appreciated! So far some general schools I'm looking at listed below. I know some (or a lot) might be out of reach but I plan to apply broadly and am open to all suggestions. Thanks :)

University of Nevada School of Medicine
USC Keck
Creighton
Loma Linda
Chicago Medical
Drexel
St. Louis University
Wake Forest
Wayne State
Tulane
New York Medical