Any Advice???

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by Stayce055, Apr 11, 2001.

1. Stayce055

Stayce055 New Member

I am currently a junior in college that recently had a life changing experience that made me change my major from pre-something"?" to dentistry(special needs dentistry). I have great ambition and know I will do well if accepted into a program. Problem is my GPA. For the first two years of college I aimlessly took classes (difficult ones) and did the typical college slack-off. My GPA is currently a 2.8 which I am working tediously to bring up. I have 6 years of experience in health care working with disabled individuals, special olympics, easter seals of america, and various other types of health care work. I have also worked 40+ hours a week putting myself through school. I have not yet taken my DAT's, but fear that the admissions committee will view my GPA and toss my application into the nearest recyling bin. Is there anyone out there that has come from a similar situation, or anyone that has any advice as to whether or not I stand a chance? Even any suggestions about programs that may look past the numbers and give me a chance at a career I can stay dedicated to and serve the underpriviledged with. Maybe even some stats of accepted applicants that may give me some hope. I cannot change my past academic performance, just strive to accomplish my goals from today on. Thank you for your time, feel free to email me at [email protected] Good luck to you all.

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. To stayce055,

For GPA and DAT stats goto: http://memebers.tripod.com/~softballteam/dental.html
    Click under "admissions - GPA and DAT"
    Check also on other threads in this forum titled under "who got in? help others?" something like that, accepted students posted their stats and advice.