Any Anesthesiology folks out there?.I m thinking of changing

Discussion in 'Clinical Rotations' started by InFluxMD, Sep 21, 2001.

1. InFluxMD

InFluxMD New Member

US trained,ABIM certified internal med physician considering changing to anest.
    Back in early 90's the prospect of no jobs kept me away.IM is becoming increasingly dissatisfying.
    Will I have a difficult time finding a program? It s been a few years out of residency...how can I get the rust off my procedural skills..or will I find support to get back to speed if i go back to do an anesthesiology residency?
    :confused:

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Test Boy

Test Boy Senior Member

Just curious, can you tell me why IM is dissatisfying for you? Thanks.

4. scrubs

scrubs Junior Member

Hi InFlux!

I am currently a first-year anesthesia resident. Interestingly I am considering a switch to internal medicine (with subsequent fellowship in something). I, too, am curious about what you find dissatisfying about medicine and why you are not considering subspecializing versus changing to anesthesiology?

As for you switching into anesthesia (if you are positive that is what you want to do), it has been my experience that anesthesia programs like people who have had backgrounds in other specialties especially internal medicine - it will really help when you have very sick patients and understand the pathophysiology of their diseases. I would not worry about procedural skills. Most people who go into anesthesia have no skills prior to entering the field - I certainly did not. In my first 3 months thus far I have done at least 100 intubations, put in 10 arterial lines, and 5 central lines. Your attendings will guide you through these procedures.

What I would be more concerned about are why you want to enter this field. I have written my opinions about this field in the thread entitled "switching into anesthesiology." In brief, here are the negatives: