Any aussie students here considering doing residency in USA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ALTorGT

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi there
im a final year med student in Sydney. Just returned from doing my elective in New York. Must say that the training there is a lot more hardcore, but gets done quicker. Also, combined with somewhat better pay in private practice, got me thinking seriously about moving to the US and doing my residency there. Anyone here considering it? Thoughts comments or opinions?

Members don't see this ad.

Originally posted by ALTorGT
hi there
im a final year med student in Sydney. Just returned from doing my elective in New York. Must say that the training there is a lot more hardcore, but gets done quicker. Also, combined with somewhat better pay in private practice, got me thinking seriously about moving to the US and doing my residency there. Anyone here considering it? Thoughts comments or opinions?

Hey are you an Australian citizen? If so that should help you make up your mind. As an Australian citizen (without a US greencard/citizenship) you will not exactly be able to get a comfy spot in some upscale hospital. You will be getting a residency in a location that US students didn't want. You will also have a lot of visa hassles b/c you will require an H1B visa or a J1 (which the Australian gov't wont' grant easily) and on top of that you are leaving a very very comfortable lifestyle in australia, and saying goodbye to it without a further struggle. Yes the training in the US is hardcore, but that lasts forever..you will live a more "hardcore" lifestyle with longer hours and you will have to deal with insurance companies and other headaches you wouldn't have had in Australia...not to mention the fact that you will have to write the USMLEs.

If you really want to go there...think about it first and realise what you are giving up.