Any chance for a nontraditional student with a 3.0 undergrad GPA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Iceali

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a Bachelors of General Studies from a Big Ten university with a 3.0 GPA and virtually no Science. I'm starting an MBA program soon with a Cal State campus. If I can get a 3.8 in my MBA, take Chem, Physics, and Bio at a community college, and get at least a 35 on my MCAT, would I have a chance at getting into an MD medical school? I'm settled down with my family in the LA area, so I'd love to go to UC Irvine, Loma Linda, UCLA, USC, the new UC Riverside program when it opens, or somewhere else within driving distance...

I would be 40 years old by the time I apply with no clinical experience, although I do have some interesting life experience to talk about in an interview: I've made a feature film; I've worked as a fundraiser for a nonprofit; I've worked as a Network Engineer for a Fortune 500 company; and a few other nontraditional things which I've excelled at... and I always do very well in job interviews...

Would I have any chance of getting into the kinds of medical schools I've listed here or any other ones for that matter?

Or would I have to start over from scratch with a BS in a hard science with an outstanding GPA to prove myself first? In that case, should I do a BS instead of an MBA?

I know I'm very nontraditional and have had a weird life, but I feel a strong calling to become a doctor and would be willing to do the necessary work that it takes to become one.

Members don't see this ad.

Being an older nontraditional is in your favor as your undergrad GPA of 3.0 won't be held against you so much. But you must prove you can perform brilliantly in a science-intense curriculum. An MBA won't help you there so much. And without any basic sciences, I'm not sure you can get into science-based masters program right now.