Any Colorblind pre-Meds out there?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Potato!

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone. I have a minor red-green colorblindness (well technically it's called a color deficiency). I was wondering if any of the other pre-meds out there, or Med students are also in this same boat. It's a fairly common condition in males, so I expect that some of you will also be color deficient. Let me know if you've had any difficulties in your pre-med/med pursuits or just in every day life.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

:luck: :mad::D :mad: :luck: :mad:
here are a bunch of reds and greens to torment you.

i fear you will have a hard time succeeding in med school

:)

j/k i have no experience with this, but i doubt it would hinder you that much as a doctor.

Members don't see this ad :)
I have a friend who's just finishing 2nd yr and has a similar color blindness... but he's not interested in surgery.. LoL, just kidding.. in all seriousness it shouldn't pose a problem... a fellow R1 of mine is red/green colorblind and is headed towards cardio.

JT

I came out of the color closet last year.

It's kind of a funny story. I was taking a class called Sensory Processes and in the vision section our prof showed a slide with two pictures of green leaves, they both looked the same to me so I turned to my friend and asked her what the difference between them was and she said that one of them had red flowers in it. I was so suprised and that's how I found out I have red-green color deficiency.

I'll venture to diagnose myself and call my condition anamolous trichromacy because I can see a lot of different shades of red and green, I only have problems with some shades.

I actually asked one of my student hosts about this and he said he doesn't think that there are any red-green slides in histology so I have nothing to worry about :D