Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

Any DO match into an allopathic program?

Discussion in 'Clinical Rotations' started by CuriousDoc, Mar 21, 2002.

1. CuriousDoc

CuriousDoc Member

Hi there!

I'm a second year DO student at UMDNJ and I was wondering if there are any DO students out there who matched into an allopathic programs? And if you did, did you take the USMLE? Was your score above average? Was the program you matched into one of your top choices?

Any insight would be great! Thanks in advance.

CuriousDoc

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. dcdo

dcdo Senior Member

Hello,

There are plenty who matched into MD programs, 32 in my class alone(about half the class went DO). I matched IM at my #2 choice. I did take the USMLE, which seems to be a good idea in general at least for California and got a 240. If you are interested in a competitive field you definitely should take it.

Good luck.

4. tedsadoc2002

tedsadoc2002 Senior Member

I matched at an allopathic program in NY for Emergency Med. No, I did not take the USMLE and I agree with dcdo, if you want to go to California, USMLE seems to be a must.

5. migraineboy

migraineboy Member

I matched anesthesiology in an allopathic program (#3 pick). Never took the USMLE and I was never asked about why I didn't take it by any program director. I don't know anything about California.

6. Freeeedom!

Freeeedom! Senior Member

I matched in Emergency Medicine and DID take the USMLE. It seemed to help. Interviewers said it showed I was committed to the field by going the extra distance when I "didn't have to".

7. miami

miami Junior Member