Any Fine Arts majors out there?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by osumc2014, May 30, 2008.

1. osumc2014

Resident [Any Field]
    I am seriously considering switching my major to Studio Art and was wondering if anyone here has majored in that. I have all of my pre med requirements done and I just want to do something that really interests me in college. I am wondering if anyone here is currently majoring in art and whether or not it is extremely time consuming and taking away from the premed experience? Any advice would be appreciated!

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. DancerDocToBe

Pre-Medical
    Not studio art, but I'm majoring in dance. Means I'm not constantly in class with all the pre-med crazy kids. I enjoy that.

4. MedGirl08

MedGirl08 Surgeon in Training

Pre-Medical
    Do what you love! This is the best advice I can give. You may never have a chance again to explore that interest, go for it!

5. nu2004

Medical Student
    Are you a good test taker? The only reason I ask is that you will really want to own the MCAT if you do Studio Art as a major. This is for a couple of reasons:

1) You have no idea what kind of grades you'll be able to pull, since Studio Art grades are overwhelmingly subjective and you'll find yourself at the mercy of your profs.

2) Adcom members are less likely to be able to appreciate the academic rigor behind a degree like Studio Art (as opposed to something like Art History, where there is a clear expectation of analytic ability and critical thinking). Many in the sciences have very little appreciation for visual art in general (heck, many non-artists have very little appreciation for visual art). This isn't to say that if you maintain good grades you won't be a good candidate (in fact, with good grades and MCAT you'll probably stand out as someone they want to interview).