any genuine advice is appreciated

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kate0428

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
HI ALL,

I am in a deep pit trying to figure out if I can really do this...It would be helpful if I can get some genuine advice on where I can go on from here with life!

During my high school, I was an artist, working on art portfolios to apply to art schools. Art was my life and I still LOVE art. However, during my senior year in high school, I somehow decided on a career change to pursue something totally different. Something more stable, like a professional job.

So, I started out at a community college in 2009 with a MATH major, transferred to a four year in 2013, and graduated from a four year in 2015 with APPLIED MATH, CHEMISTRY and premed major. During my community college years (4 full years without break), I took TOO MANY unnecessary courses and some science courses and didn't do so well on them. I was lost with directions and lacking goals or motivations. I also lacked mentor to look up upon. So when I transferred to a four year university, my gpa was around 3.1. Then, during the two years at a four year, I was on Dean's list, honors society, and graduated with a cum laude, but that only raised my overall gpa so much. During my two years at a four year university, I volunteered at a local hospital and shadowed a surgeon and a pediatric, and wanted to become a doctor, without realizing the low GPA and CRAZY NUMBER OF UNITS I have accumulated during my 6 years of college.

My overall science GPA is 3.2 and an overall GPA 3.1 (even after I graduated with a cum laude).