Any hope of getting in in Canada?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KettleOfFish

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a Biochemistry student going into my 4th year, and I'm wondering if I have a hope of staying in Canada to do my MD.

I'm NOT doing a masters/phd to get in, as I'm getting married and can't really afford to gamble with more education without a guarantee.

I've got about a 3.5 GPA so far (3.3 1st year, 3.6 2nd, 3.5 3rd) and have taken honors levels of everything I could get my hands on (physics, physiology, calculus, biochemistry).

My MCAT was a 39P.

I volunteer with Big Brother's, help out with my Taekwondo club, am a member of the whitewater kayaking club at the university (probably on the exec this year) and am getting married in about a month and a half (not really an activity, but shows that I have a very active non-school life).

I work in a lab under a research grant (I've been here for the last two years) and also do 2 night shifts per week at the local hospital (environmental services in emerg).

So is there a chance of me staying in Canada or is it off to the Carribean/Australia/The USA/Elsewhere for me?

Members don't see this ad.

your GPA is unfortunately going to give you trouble at most places and at the places it could be easily corrected for (Queen's) your WS will give you trouble. I don't have much good advice, but the US may be a better option especially with your MCAT. Good luck.

I think you still stand a chance, try less well known schools, like U of Mb.
Good Luck.

Members don't see this ad :)