SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

any Med Students/Docs overcome Social Anxiety?

Discussion in 'Medical Students - MD' started by jmejia, Jan 30, 2001.

1. jmejia

jmejia Junior Member

Oct 27, 2000
    I'm a premedical student pretty much finished with my requirements. My stats are competitive and I think of myself as wellrounded with good extracurr. activites. Although I see myself functioning very well with patients because I've done so volunteering at clinics, I'm concerned that my social anxiety will not allow me success in medical school and thus as a physician. The extent of my social anxiety is not severe, I just simply function better in one-to-one situations and pretty much never studied in groups. Can an introvert succeed as a doctor?

any feedback appreciated,

2. SDN Members don't see this ad. About the ads.
  3. doctorpedro

doctorpedro New Member

Feb 1, 2001
    Los Angeles, CA
    Oh boy, this is an easy one!!!
    I am a doctor already, so I hope I can still post here. Social Anxiety Disorder is very treatable, I see incredible results in my patients (Family Practice.) Run to your doctor, get started on an SSRI, (I write for celexa, less side effects, but prozac, paxil and zoloft work as well.) It takes 3-4 weeks to kick in, and you will be a star player on your hospital rounds!!!
    Make sure you get on meds before your med school interviews, so as to have your best shot at getting into a good school.
    good luck

4. Djanaba

Djanaba Senior Member 10+ Year Member

May 4, 2000
    Minneapolis, MN
    Sorry, I can't hop on the pill-popping bandwagon. Meds are very helpful for many people, but drugs aren't the answer to everything.