Any Post Bacc students getting into Med School?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Madison

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a B.A. in Behavioral Science. During my first degree, I had my own business with 10 employees. I worked nights (I slept from 6-10:00 am, then went to class.) I was pulling a 3.50 GPA. But after allowing my youth and family to sway me, I decided to go for the business which required EVERY ounce of me. I literally never studied from there on out. I graduated with my B.A. and ran my own business. After five years, I was miserable. I wasn't doing what I had dreamed about since I was a child. Medicine. I have since worked for Child Protective Services and was a Case Worker for teen moms running the program for three years. My attempt to use my degree only proved how awful it is to have regrets and not even be 30. I am now going for it. I'm volunteering at the Trauma center, and at a clinic in internal Medicine. I currently own two coffee shops which I started for the sole purpose of selling for medical school money, etc. later. I am now starting school as a Post Bacc student trying to bring up my VERY Average 3.0 GPA.

All this to say. How much "life experience" do they consider? and Is Post Bacc study a negative? Will my low GPA be a huge negative even with hopefully great grades later? And what kinds of grades am I going to have to pull to be competitive with all you physic researchers, and 3.98 GPA'ers??

I would greatly appreciate any advice, and or encouragement!!!! Feeling discouraged at 32 after reading the struggles you are all facing.

Madison

[This message has been edited by Madison (edited March 23, 2001).]

Members don't see this ad.

Madison--