Quantcast

Any Pre-med from Maryland of D.C??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pettie Baige

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.
I'm a pre-med who is planning to transfer to a 4 year college in Maryland within this year or next year. I'm currently attending so-so college in my home state. I recently started researching for schools in Maryland. and I am kinda having hard time finding good schools that would prepare me well for admission to a med school. Yes, I know Johns Hopkins would be very nice but I'm not even counting on it.. lol

Can anybody give me some advice on choosing a good college/univ in MD (or Washington D.C is fine also) that might help me to get into a med school?
or at least some names of reputable schools in those areas is fine
I just have no clue where to look first..

I'm still new to pre-med courses and I'm not sure if the name of college that you did your undergraduate at is going to matter in the admission process.
I mean doing 3.7 in no-name college and 3.7 in Ivies would sound different to the adcoms, isn't it??

thanks in advance! :)

DoctaJay

bone breaker
Moderator Emeritus
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
There are only a handful of schools that selectively prefer undergrads from ivy/big name schools. For the most part, what matters is your GPA and the MCAT (the great equalizer). That being the case, any school will get you into a good medical school, especially if you are well rounded with your ECs.

I've heard alot of great stuff about UMBC; they have an extremely strong science program and smaller environment. UMCP is good too, but it is just so big (I would get lost in an environment like that). Hopkins undergrad is beautiful, and you will have great opportunities, but they can't seem to shake their reputation of having a cut-throat environment.