Any PTs in med school out there?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kmacPTATC

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am starting this Fall and would appreciate any feedback about school and how prepared you are (were) for the first two years. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I am in the same boat as you are. I'm an ATC, PT in Indianapolis and I am starting at Indiana Univeristy this fall. I thought that I was the only crazy one going back after all of this!

A fourth year classmate of mine was a PT before going to school. IIRC he didn't feel that being a PT gave him a big edge, even in anatomy, but perhaps it was just him.

Casey

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi guys, thought I would chime in. I am a 4th year med student, graduating soon and going into general surgery (I'll find out where two weeks from tomorrow!). I originally was an accountant for two years, then hated it, took 2 years of science classes, and then went on to get my masters in Physical Therapy from MCP Hahnemann. But during grad school, I found I was fascinated with the anatomy and the interventionalist nature of surgery (I got to scrub a couple of heart valves so I could see the trauma the pts went through, before I got them up to ambulate the very next a.m.) I also found a deep desire to be the one driving the ship - doing the surgeries - not just rehabbing the pts afterwards. So I put my money (actually my wife's money) where my big mouth is, and took organic chem at night, studied my ass off for the MCAT during my last year of grad school, and got my acceptance. I took an extra six months off and practiced PT at a local sports rehab place, then went straight into med school. It's been a *long* haul :) but I couldn't be happier and my family (wife, kid, parents, inlaws) are in total support so all is cool.