Any US Medical School vs. Melbourne (Australia)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AstroZzz

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Sorry if I posted this in the wrong place.

I am a non-Canadian international student, and I feel very fortunate to be accepted to both a US MD program (ranked 50-ish) and the University of Melbourne in Australia. Could somebody with knowledge of both medical education in the US and Australia tell me how strong/well-rounded is Australian medical school compared to US MD programs?

I have the feeling that although the University of Melbourne is ranked higher on global rankings, the medical education and education, in general, is far better here in the States.

Any opinion or suggestion is appreciated. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry if I posted this in the wrong place.

I am a non-Canadian international student, and I feel very fortunate to be accepted to both a US MD program (ranked 50-ish) and the University of Melbourne in Australia. Could somebody with knowledge of both medical education in the US and Australia tell me how strong/well-rounded is Australian medical school compared to US MD programs?

I have the feeling that although the University of Melbourne is ranked higher on global rankings, the medical education and education, in general, is far better here in the States.

Any opinion or suggestion is appreciated. Thank you!

What country do you hope to complete a residency and/or practice medicine in?

You should be deciding based on where you want to practice and how the Visas work for residency if you don't have citizenship in either country. That's by far the most important factor, you'll learn medicine just fine either way.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
What country do you hope to complete a residency and/or practice medicine in?