Anyone at UMass (Amherst), Suny Albany, NYMC?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

coolmavs

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Guys I was looking for some opinions on the MPH program in these schools. If anyone has any info, hint , suggestion on these colleges and what specializations are they famous for in terms of a good program will be hichly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

coolmavs said:
Guys I was looking for some opinions on the MPH program in these schools. If anyone has any info, hint , suggestion on these colleges and what specializations are they famous for in terms of a good program will be hichly appreciated.

I have no directly experience with any of them (short of being interested in Albany and UMass as places to live). But, I can say that I met one of my school's alums who is now a prof at SUNY Albany. She said that their programs is very applied (not reseach heavy). Their students do a lot of internships at the state health department. And, I get the feeling they are stronger in Health Behavior / Health Education, and descriptive epidemiology.

UMass Amherst has a good MPH Epi-Biostats program. SUNY Albany is also a good place for an MPH.
people from both these schools are encouraged to do lots of practical work, and there are lots of good internships the students go to..that being said, from SUNY Albany, there are opportunities to do internships with the NY State Dept of Health.this is one of the most organised,efficient and "cutting-edge" places to gain experience in public health practice, be it in any sphere of public health.it would be a far more enriching experience to work with the NY State DoH than Mass State DoH...that apart, i dont really know much more about these two programs...my 2c.

Members don't see this ad :)