anyone doing med school with a child?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Su4n2

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
specially with a young one like infant. would appreciate thoughts.

Members don't see this ad.

Try mommd.com. There are some women there that should be able to give you some insight.

If you will forgive the DO student for looking through the MD forums, I'll tell you about my experience. I am a 4th year DO student, and when I started school, I had a 2 month old little girl. During the summer of my second year, literally the morning after I completed my Step I boards exam, my son was born. So, when I moved off to do my clinical rotations, I had a 2 year old girl and a 2 month old boy. What I found both in the first two years and in the last year of my clinical rotations is this: while kids are a LOT of work, they are also a built in support system. Some days, I feel beat, but all it takes is a smile from one of my children to make a rotten day into a great day. Sure, it is tough sometimes. Some days all you want to do when you get home from a long day of classes/labs/studying/ or a hard day on the wards is to go home and crash, but you can't because you have to give the kid(s) a bath or help put them to bed. But overall, it is not only do-able, but in fact, I find that I wouldn't want to do it without my wife and kids. Many single students say "I don't know how you can do it." I say "I don't know how YOU can do it." I have a support system that many other medical students don't.
-Douglas

Members don't see this ad :)
thanx for your reply. i am also applying to DO school- NYCOM. i am thinking of having a baby and deferring for a year, or if my MCATS are bad taking a year to have a baby and take the test. does your wife work, or was she w/ the baby full time? i am interested in childcare/money issues. thanx.