Anyone else go through severe discouragement/lack of motivation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xpinchx

Michigan
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I would say thus far I've been a good pre-med student. My GPA up until last fall was 3.6 overall and 3.8 BCPM. I've always been active with the pre-med club (was an officer for a while) and very active here at SDN. Reading lots of science articles and keeping up with the times.

All that changed when I transferred to my new school (mich state) and it's been a slippery (downhill!) slope. I didn't do so bad last semester, but I completely failed my first exam (orgo II, ended up dropping it) and I still got like a 3.3ish GPA. This semester has taken a harsh turn for the worst. I'm borderline failing microbiology, I'm doing mediocre at best in physics II and physiology II, and the only class I'm really doing well in is calc II. Being completely honest with myself, I would expect probably a 2.5-3.0 average this semester.

So the problem is I just feel like I've lost sight of why I'm doing this in the first place. I'm no longer interested in classes I used to find fascinating, I still haven't started preparing for the MCAT, I fell out of the pre-med loop at my school, and I'm really just starting to not care. Everything else in my life is fine (relationships, finances more-or-less, work, family, etc. it's all fine.) I just feel burned out on school and I still have 1 year left.

I'm not really looking for sympathy, but I'm just wondering if anyone else has felt like this, and I'm curious what they did to get out of it. I've considered taking a year off but I'm not sure how wise that would be yet. Any advice would be helpful...

-discouraged pre-med

Members don't see this ad.