Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Anyone else out there post-bac but just now starting pre-reqs?

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by FutureDrB, Jan 2, 2009.

1. FutureDrB

7+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    I'm 29 and just starting my med school pre-reqs.

I have a Bachelors in Sociology and Master's in Education.

I also have to re-take about 18 hours of undergraduate courses to get my GPA up in the 3.0 range.

So, I'm looking at 2 more years of classes (which will put me at 31) before I can even start applying. :uhno:

Oh well, I want to be a doctor too bad, I'll do whatever it takes...

Anyone else out there in a similar boat?

Would love to hear your story.

2. dec0y

dec0y Junior Member
    5+ Year Member

Im 24 and I just started my pre-reqs last term! I was a math major in undergrad and I am sort of fast tracking the pre-reqs, so I should only be in for about another 9 months.

3. ULRN

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    I'm am 21, an RN, and I am about to start taking pre-reqs in Jan for med school. I am so excited!

4. dgmarma

7+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Same Here... I have a BS in Finance/Economics. My last 85+ Credits are a 3.97 but my overall GPA is only a 2.9 I have a five year gap in my transcript and when I returned to school I matured a bit and really got serious, but I still have to do some repairs as well. I plan to take enough upperdivision sci classes to complete another degree during the glide year and then reapply if necessary. It will happen!

If it makes you feel any better I am 33 right now, and I will be 35 when I apply...uggh!

Good-luck, Enjoy the ride!!

5. pharm B

pharm B Phar Noir
    Staff Member Administrator Rocket Scientist Pharmacist Lifetime Donor Classifieds Approved 10+ Year Member

Pharmacist