anyone get confused for everything but a physician in the ED?!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Painter1

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
i don't like wearing a white coat primarily because i don't feel as comfortable but unlike the other residents/attendings who also only wear scrubs, i get confused for a nurse or even nurse assistant ALL the time! i'm a dude, so that makes it even more confusing for me. i don't know what it is.

Members don't see this ad.

I get confused for a doc all the time. Maybe it's because I'm 36, roguishly handsome, and walk with confidence... because I'm a damn fine ER tech.

Maybe it's your bearing, posture, diction, or some other Dale Carnegie-style issue of personal presentation. Are you an attending? Resident? What year? How old are you? Does your program offer any training (official or unofficial) in stuff like how to walk into a room, how to project calm confidence and sympathetic authority, or do they just leave you to figure it out? Do you have any mentor-types who are never confused for anything else, whom you can emulate?

Heck, maybe it's just that there isn't enough differentiation in the uniforms. Need more info to form a hypothesis, really.

People in ER's are often not having thier best day. And there are all kinds of people running in and out, dressed in scrubs, dressed nicely and doing things to them and asking them questions. Its not surprising that they can't figure out who's who.

Just politely introduce yourself or remind them you are thier doctor. Its not a challenge to your ego or anything.

I do tend to dress professionally aka no scrubs and wear my ID visible as well, which helps.

Members don't see this ad :)
I was referred to as "the doctor's little girlfriend" once. :eek: