Anyone had experience or know anything about the MFT PsyD prgram @ Alliant?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

starkarcadia

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Everyone,

I'm currently a psychology undergrad, but am already looking at schools to further my education. I live in the Southern California (close to San Bernardino) area and I'm not mobile, so my choices for school are quite limited.

We've all heard the negative (and sometimes) positive things about schools such as Alliant, so I don't want this thread to become a bashing thread. I've already read them. I'd like some specific information.

My question is that I recently I found out about the PsyD in MFT program. It's not clinical psychology, but it allows one to be a licensed mft and a licensed psychologist. I've heard some negative things about the clinical psychology program there (mostly fr. SDN) and the match rates from APA do sound a bit :thumbdown:, but does anyone have anything to contribute about the PsyD program in MFT???

The PsyD in MFT there is accredited by aamft and coamfte, not by the APA. I was wondering if anyone had knowledge, experience, a friend who went there, etc, etc. I'd really appreciate that. Thankyou.

Members don't see this ad.

I had a coworker who did her MFT there. She now makes $18/hour doing behavior therapy for autistic kids not too far from where you presumably are. I think she enjoyed her time at Alliant. Not sure I can provide much else beyond that. She took at least some classes with the doctoral students.

(Btw, MFT≠licensed psychologist but it does allow you to become licensed as a LMFT)

Hi Apumic,

Thanks for your input:)

You wrote that, "(Btw, MFT≠licensed psychologist but it does allow you to become licensed as a LMFT)"