Anyone here from UTSA yet???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

simpleton

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am waiting to hear from University of Texas at San Antonio for an interview and was wondering if anyone has an interview invite yet. If you do could you please say if you are a texas resident or not. Thanks in advance for your responses!

Members don't see this ad.

I have not heard from UTSA either at this point, but I do know folks who have. I think that today (9/10) might be their first round of interviews. So be patient, I guess.

Interview scheduled for next Mon. 9/17 and I am a TX Resident.

Members don't see this ad :)
I just got back from my interviews there. 9/10 is the first date for interviews this year, the dean said they interview approx. 950-1000 people every year until early December.

I am NOT a TX resident by the way.

I didnt meet many of their MS1s or MS2s but their MS4s are pretty cool. They have a big nontrad class and a good percentage (30-40%?) are married.

My initial impression of UTSA is that the students there have alot of life experience, probably moreso than UTMB. The class is more nontrad than UTMB also I think.

Every year, 24 of the med students are picked from the MS2 class to spend their 3rd and 4th years at Harlingen (near South Padre). Apparently, recently they have had problems with not enough volunteers, so they have to randomly assign people. Mainly this is because a significant portion of the class is married and dont want to uproot to move elsewhere, not because they dont specifically like Harlingen or the environment they would be in. The good thing about Harlingen is that you work directly with attendings, instead of working under residents at the San Antonio locations. They have other options available in McAllen, Laredo, and Corpus Christi. Basically UTSA is responsible for providing care to all of South Texas.