anyone interested in helping with my PS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kraxup

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I can email my personal statement to you or you can just read it here. Feel free to post your thoughts. Please be honest and don't be afraid of humiliating me. I am not good with grammar; therefore, that is what I need help with the most....

Admiral Chester W. Nimitz's said, ?Uncommon Valor was a Common Virtue? about the Marine Corps landing on the Island of Iwo Jima. This quote is equally applied to physicians for their high moral standards and their devotion to the care of their patients. During my years as a Marine Corps squad leader, I was entrusted to train my Marines for all military and non-military situations. The most memorable mission my Marines and I was involved in was a humanitarian mission in East Timor. Over the next 4 weeks my squad and I secured areas for safe zones, set up food distribution centers and field medical clinics. After the initial phases of preparation and security we began the distribution of food, water and hygiene materials. This gave me the chance to meet the people of east Timor and learn about their culture, history and personal problems. Everyday I learned something new about the East Timorese way of life; therefore, the following day I was better prepared to handle the problems of the local people proper help center. Working with the Timorese helped me better understand how to work through cultural and language barriers. By being in the Marines I learned a lot about leadership, personal responsibility and personal sacrifice and I know these personal traits will allow me to be a successful family practice physician in the future.