anyone know about new US regulation requiring MCAT score for US federal loans?

jaketheory

10+ Year Member
Nov 10, 2005
Sydney, NSW
Status
university of queensland told me a new regulation requires students to submit MCAT scores to receive US federal student loans.

i'm an australian permanent resident and will be applying to aussie med schools. while international applicants have the option of submitting scores for the MCAT or the aussie test (GAMSAT) for admission, local applicants must submit GAMSAT scores.

it appears this new rule means i cant get federal student loans at any aussie med school despite that 3 are approved to distribute them and international applicants submitting MCAT scores to these schools can get them.

WTF? i'm trying to find more info on this regulation. i've googled all kinds of things with no luck. can anyone help me locate info on this?

Raigon

This is an emergency.
10+ Year Member
Jul 5, 2008
Status
Medical Student
university of queensland told me a new regulation requires students to submit MCAT scores to receive US federal student loans.

i'm an australian permanent resident and will be applying to aussie med schools. while international applicants have the option of submitting scores for the MCAT or the aussie test (GAMSAT) for admission, local applicants must submit GAMSAT scores.

it appears this new rule means i cant get federal student loans at any aussie med school despite that 3 are approved to distribute them and international applicants submitting MCAT scores to these schools can get them.

WTF? i'm trying to find more info on this regulation. i've googled all kinds of things with no luck. can anyone help me locate info on this?
http://www.financialaidforum.com/discussions/graduate-loans/