Anyone know about or completed a one year OMFS internship?

Discussion in 'Dental Residents and Practicing Dentists' started by traveljunkie1, Dec 20, 2008.

1. traveljunkie1

Dentist
    Has anyone completed a one year OMFS internship or know about them? Im 2yrs out of school, enjoying general practice and basic OS. However, Im looking to expand my surgical thought process and skills. I am seriously considering a 1 year OMFS internship. Any thoughts about the program? I realize it is often a backdoor to OMFS residencies. I dont plan on becoming an OMFS. I want to approach surgery, under the scope of general dentistry, with stronger and better intellect rather than just mechanics. Thanks for the feedback.

2. omfsgirl

Resident [Any Field]
    I am a resident and I also did an internship. It depends on where you do your internship at as to whether you are going to improve your skills. In alot of places the interns chuck teeth all day, but in other places its all scut work. If you do it choose wisely and keep in mind the interns are the bottom of the ladder, get blamed for everything and take ALOT of call. If you are already in private practice, and have a re3al life doing an internship would be a real shakeup and you have to really want it to put up with being eveones bitch. Bottom line, you learn a lot your intern year, but it can really suck.

3. IcedOMFS

IcedOMFS realultimatepower.net
    5+ Year Member

Attending Physician

Note that the phrase is, "shuck teeth," an analogy to, "shucking oysters."

Oyster shucking is a little different... Stick it in, pry it open, and leave her with a pearl necklace...

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. LSU-Cowboy

LSU-Cowboy Resident
    5+ Year Member

Unless you talk like Scarface....Like I usually do.....then you "chuck teeth mang"

5. omfsgirl

Resident [Any Field]
    or chuck teeth as in "a woodchuck chucks....." a-hole

6. gryffindor

Dentist 10+ Year Member