Anyone know about USUHS or have Military Med experience?

CaliGrl80

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Mar 4, 2005
Santa Cruz, CA
Status
This is my first post and I would appreciate any advice. I have been accepted at 3 schools but am having trouble deciding between 2 of them. One is USUHS and the other is Creighton. I did a master's at creighton and really like the school. However, the cost is so high and the thought of having the NAVY pay for my school is very enticing. However, I would not join the military for this reason alone. I am trying to figure out if the NAVY is for me and I would appreciate anyone's opinions. Here are a few of my concerns:
1. Since USUHS is not able to be ranked I am want to know how the students feel the quality of education is.
2. Which situation do you think would be easier to have a family in? The thought of having a family during residency or after and then being deployed is a very big negative in my mind.
3. What is the whole GMO thing like? what are the different choices for NAVY?
4. Are any physicians happy that they did the NAVY route (USUHS especially)? All I hear is negative comments.
5. How much of a strain is it to actually pay back student loans if I did the civilian route and went to Creighton (40K)? How much money do you actually pay back per month and for how long? :)

tinkerbelle

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Jul 18, 2003
Neverland
Status
Attending Physician
Hi CaliGrl80 :)

First off, congrats on all those acceptances! I didn't apply to Creihton, but I did apply and was accepted to USUHS (army) so I can tell you what I think about USUHS.

I totally understand how you're feeling. It's scary thinking about how much a private school will cost... and then you see that you get PAID to study at USUSH. And the salary isn't too bad either.

CaliGrl80 said:
1. Since USUHS is not able to be ranked I am want to know how the students feel the quality of education is.