Anyone know anything about PR schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GSUEagle

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a premed student aiming at osteopathic schools due to a low CGPA, (probably graduating with ~3.2.) However, I might aim for lower tier allo schools as well. Because I am fluent in Spanish and have taken the required amount of Spanish credits for the pre-reqs at PR schools, I would be eligible from a pre-req standpoint. It seems as though the PR schools have lower GPA requirements. With my CGPA, would I already be non-competitive at these schools regardless of whether or not I perform exceptionally well on the MCAT?

The biggest difficulty is that they seem to place emphasis on PR residents and/or people with ties to the island. I can claim neither. Does anyone who is from the mainland with no PR ties have experience with this?

Members don't see this ad.

With a 3.2 you have no chance of MD admissions. PR schools have a huge bias for PR students, like you said. Combining no PR ties and an extremely low GPA makes your chances very slim.

Something else to think about- San Juan Bautista is facing severe LCME issues...

With a 3.2 you have no chance of MD admissions. PR schools have a huge bias for PR students, like you said. Combining no PR ties and an extremely low GPA makes your chances very slim.

Something else to think about- San Juan Bautista is facing severe LCME issues...

There's no such thing as no chance.

Members don't see this ad :)
Southern treated you too well it seems. :laugh:

DO school.

Southern treated you too well it seems. :laugh:

DO school.