1. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

anyone know anything about the ben gurion school?

Discussion in 'General International Discussion' started by Bevo, Sep 3, 2002.

1. Bevo

Bevo Radiology, R1
    7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    I was looking over it but Im not very sure about it. What is International Health? Would I be able to practice in the United States if I completed that program and took what tests were needed?

thanks

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. secretwave101

secretwave101 Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    I'm currently a second year student in the program. We just graduated our first class last year and had a 100% acceptance rate to residencies, some to big names like Georgetown and Columbia.

The connection to Columbia Univ is extremely effective. If you can make it through our program, you'll probably get a residency (although everyone went for primary care stuff last year, so we'll see how things go as more people apply for surgical spots).

Our students usually were accepted at other US schools, so the program is quite a step up from some of the other non-US schools. But I would say it is probably a little easier to get into than some US schools.

So far, residency and clinical rotation directors love us (although they haven't met me, which might screw up everything). We learned a foreign language (Hebrew) while in medical school, have dealt with extremely varied people groups (Israelis, Arabs, Russians, S. Americans, "Africans"), and have had first-hand exposure to the intersection b/t politics and medicine. The classes are in English, the program is US style and run by Israelis who have strong connections (and often education) in the US. Makes a pretty cogent argument for a residency spot.