Anyone start studying for the boards before starting med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TexasTriathlete

HTFU
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm thinking about picking up a book to start studying for step 1, possibly this fall. I've seen study questions, and the concepts are things that I understand fairly well. Maybe not in such great detail, but I think I can pick it up on my own.

I've had advanced biological science courses:
- Biochemistry I & II
- Endocrinology
- Cell Biology
- Molecular Biology
- Microbiology/Immunology
- Animal Virology
- Vertebrate Physiology
- and so on...

Also, I am a personal trainer with a kinesiology degree and a CSCS, so I know my musculoskeletal anatomy pretty well. And I volunteer in the trauma center with a bunch of med students and residents who I can question about stuff.

At this point, I am fairly certain that I will get in somewhere. Not really sure where, but I think I've applied to the right places. My goal in life is now to kick step 1's ass. I also want to take both boards. I know I can get allopathic residencies with COMLEX, but I want to leave nothing to chance. Now this isn't to say that I will ultimately want an allopatich residency, but I want as many options as I can get. So I figure I'll study for USMLE on my own, and maybe take a class for COMLEX, when the time comes. That is, assuming I end up at a DO school, which I'd say is greater than a 50% chance.

Additionally, the subject matter is interesting to me, which is why I want to be a doctor in the first place. I think it would give me a good little head start. Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.