anyone working while in med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rebaj

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey folks -

Wondering if there is anyone out there who has tried to hold down some kind of job while being a med student, or if anyone has thoughts on the feasability of it.

I've been a free-lancer for years, and am staying in my home city for med school, and will have the opportunity to still pick up work from time to time. I don't plan on counting on it when I do my Fin Aid, but a little extra cash now and then will be nice....am I crazy for thinking I'll be able to work a day or two a week occasionally?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Ola.

I worked as a freelance proofreader (horrors and historical romances) before beginning medical school, and have continued to pick up work during med school as well. The extra money is nice (though minimal), and I like the sense of balance it gives me...

I teach for Kaplan, and I know several other ppl who have taught for various test prep companies during their first and second years...good money, decent schedule, not very tough work...

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by rebaj
Hey folks -

Wondering if there is anyone out there who has tried to hold down some kind of job while being a med student, or if anyone has thoughts on the feasability of it.

I've been a free-lancer for years, and am staying in my home city for med school, and will have the opportunity to still pick up work from time to time. I don't plan on counting on it when I do my Fin Aid, but a little extra cash now and then will be nice....am I crazy for thinking I'll be able to work a day or two a week occasionally?

Thanks!

During your first 2 years, you should be able to find the time to free-lance, and maybe even in your 4th year depending on your schedule. During 3rd year, it's going to be tough.

Hey all,