Anyone worried about the Job Outlook/Finances for PT's?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fejin757

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated with a B.S in Exercise Science last year and have had the hardest time deciding between PA and PT. After weighing my options, I decided to go the PT route and will be applying this Fall :xf:. I'm not trying to be a pessimist but I'm truly worried about the job market when I graduate in 2015/2016.

One of the main things I'm worried about is that there are a large amount of DPT schools and each of those pump out 40-60 DPT's each year( with some schools like St. Augustine having three start dates per year). APTA has done a wonderful job at promoting the profession and thus the number of applications and competition keep increasing each year. This is great for the field and provides a lot of visibility and I know that PT is a great career but with future Medicare/Obamacare changes on the horizon, will the projected growth of jobs match the rate of how many fresh DPT grads there will be? Private university's can leave graduates with 100k+ debt and I'm curious if health care changes will lower reimbursement rates for PTs or maybe focus on utilizing more PTAs to cut costs. Maybe I'm just worrying too much but it is a big investment and something I've thought about as I'm readying my applications.

For example, the state of Florida ( which is where I will be applying ) has 7-8 DPT programs. If each of these graduate 40 students then that is almost 300 DPT grads per year. Can the job market sustain this kind of rapid growth and interest?