Anyone worried about their grades while attending interviews this semester?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr.Penny

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm not sure if I am the only one who did not realize how much time was going to be taken out of our schedules for all of these dental school interviews. I am taking micro, anatomy, and physics with labs and traveling across the country for interviews. On top of that I already drive 2.5-3 hours total every day to attend classes since I just moved back home. I was not prepared for the amount of study time I was going to lose from all of this. I am pretty certain straight A's this semester is not happening. Pretty sure I will get A's and B's, which is not bad. But I worry it will really lower my science GPA since I am a nontraditional student taking the minimal science work.

I am worried because I have a 4.0 science GPA but this is from going part time. Im worried dental schools will see that I went full time and did not make straight A's and that I can not handle dental school and rescind an acceptance. Does this sound really silly? I hope so.

Anyone else go through this but end up just fine?

Members don't see this ad.

I definitely feel you. While I do not have a 4.0 sGPA, I am worried about some of my grades. From what I understand, as long as you don't get anything below a C in your prereqs, and don't fail your other classes, you should be good to go, especially if you get an acceptance on Dec 1st. HOWEVER, some schools require you to maintain certain grades as part of your acceptance agreement. Personally I am taking some neuro classes that are kicking my butt especially because I had to travel a lot for interviews, but I know that I can pull off high Cs or Bs, and based on other people's experiences, that would not be a reason for schools to withdraw their acceptance.