DOAnestMan

10+ Year Member
Jul 16, 2006
Status
Resident [Any Field]
Hey all-
I was wondering if people had any tips on how to improve one's chances of having their intern year in an ACGME program approved by the AOA. I am just beginning my third year and have heard that starting to work on approval earlier is better. I have heard conflicts on how easy or hard it is to get approval and was wondering if anyone here had advice to share. Thanks.

drusso

Moderator Emeritus
Lifetime Donor
20+ Year Member
Nov 21, 1998
Over the rainbow
Status
Attending Physician
DOAnestMan said:
Hey all-
I was wondering if people had any tips on how to improve one's chances of having their intern year in an ACGME program approved by the AOA. I am just beginning my third year and have heard that starting to work on approval earlier is better. I have heard conflicts on how easy or hard it is to get approval and was wondering if anyone here had advice to share. Thanks.
Did you do an ACGME-approved transitional year? If so, it's pretty straightforward to get it approved via the Resolution 42 pathway on the AOA website.

http://www.do-online.osteotech.org/index.cfm?PageID=sir_postdocres42

Basically, demonstrate a reason why you needed to do your internship in the geographic area you did it, attend an osteopathic conference or educational event, and get a letter from the Dean of the school.

I got mine approved without much difficulty.

gagolden

Call me the DOgg
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
May 17, 2005
Status
To anybody who as gotten their IM residency approved.

I am interested in getting my ACGME residency approved.. well after the match that is. After reading before mentioned link, I was left with a question

Do you have to complete all of your requried roations during your internship year, or can you spread them out over the course of three years. For example, your pediatric requirement, can you do that PGY II.