DendWrite

10+ Year Member
Oct 19, 2008
Status
I'm currently a freshman in college. I took AP Bio in high school (junior year), got a 5, and feel pretty confident with my knowledge.

Should I continue on to Biochemistry and Cell Biology, or should I retake Biology? I've heard mixed reviews from everyone I've asked about this...some say to take the easy credits, while others say to take my AP bio credit and be able to graduate a semester or two early.

Also, I took AP Calclulus BC (5). While I'm planning on taking a statistics course, my school recommends that I "continue my math education" by taking Differential Equations, Calc III or Linear Algebra. Do med schools really care? I'm not that interested in higher-level maths. I'm considering MD/PhD, which is why I was wondering if the extra math would be more important.

Thanks.

sixpence

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jul 8, 2008
Status
I think some med schools will require you to have at least 2 maths, and one of them may not be stats, so I would just take calc 3 i guess to make sure. Biochem is pretty tough to start out with as your first bio course in college. I'm assuming you didnt take a bio this first semester? Look for a bio course that isn't known to be that hard and take it.

GoSpursGo

Allons-y!
Staff member
Administrator
10+ Year Member
Sep 30, 2008
Status
Fellow [Any Field]
Just be aware that some med schools (a minority, but some) won't take AP credit to satisfy the requirements (Harvard springs directly to mind as not accepting AP Bio). If you're a Bio/Biochem major whose going to get plenty of more Bio, that won't matter with your AP Bio, but it might matter if you never plan to take another math class in your life. Check with the schools you'll be looking at applying to, if you happen to know what they are at this point.