judsoph

Stressed Pre-med
Apr 2, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
I have read many threads about using AP credit for prereqs, but I am not exactly sure how to deal with my specific situation. I am a sophomore at a small liberal arts college majoring in neuroscience. I came into college with numerous AP credits, including chemistry and physics. When I was initially registering for classes freshman year, I wasn't well-versed on the situation of using AP credits for prereqs, and on the advice of an academic advisor who apparently wasn't aware either, I accepted the credit for the two semesters of gen-chem I got from my AP and went straight into orgo. This did not go well. I got a C first semester and ended up dropping second semester, which I am repeating now and will probably end up with a decent grade, but that's not the issue at hand. My problem comes now in trying to decide how to supplement the AP credit I regret accepting. As I said, I go to a small school, so there are not many course options available. Complicating the situation is the fact that I am studying abroad in the fall, so I only have three semesters left on campus. In terms of chemistry, I plan on taking a 300-level biochem I can use for my major, but this is a non-lab course. My options for upper-level labs are all either courses that would be very difficult to schedule or I do not think I would do well in (aka P-Chem). I also could just not apply anywhere that requires more chem than I will be able to fit in, but given that my GPA is within norms, but not overly competitive, I hate to rule out schools at this point. My other issue then arises with my physics. I have credit for both semesters of General Physics. These I could feasibly still take senior year even though I have credit for them. Taking an upper-level is not really an option for me. I am not sure if it is worth it though, since I have looked at many different AP credit policies, and I do not think it is likely I will run into a situation where a