apa standard for internship site

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ikibah

MSW student
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an MSW Intern at a site that happens to be APA accredited so I work together with psych interns who are completing their internship as well. My question is what does it take for a site to get APA accreditation. It can't be too hard because I see first hand that this placement is a joke - the interns spend copious amounts of time on facebook and rarely work/see clients. Why don't more places have APA accreditation? I can't imagine it's too hard to get.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm an MSW Intern at a site that happens to be APA accredited so I work together with psych interns who are completing their internship as well. My question is what does it take for a site to get APA accreditation. It can't be too hard because I see first hand that this placement is a joke - the interns spend copious amounts of time on facebook and rarely work/see clients. Why don't more places have APA accreditation? I can't imagine it's too hard to get.

It takes money. And it takes a lot of paperwork/documentation.

That' said, for a site to become accredited, they have to show more than suffiencient amounts of evidence that it is a functioning training program which includes the development of program training goals/competencies, didactics, meeting the 4 hour/week supervision requirement, and of course providing interns with sufficient clinical/patient contact (usually no less than 15 hours/week).

http://www.apa.org/ed/accreditation/

Yeah, it's way too easy to get, as long as you go through a good amount of up front documentation. Many of us would love to see standards tightened up considerably, but I'm pessimistic that it will happen anytime soon due to financial and political reasons.