Application cycle and Covid

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mdcsmitty

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys just wondering if anybody has heard anything about schools and the upcoming application cycle i know it doesnt open for a month but wasnt sure if any schools had mentioned augmenting the cycle due to covid. Im a nurse in cali so im still working but all non essential stuff is shut down. I guess the first part of the cycle could theoretically be okay because it is all internet based but i know schools in my area have already augmented the current students year so im not sure if something is coming down the line for us soon to be applicants. Just curious?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not involved in admissions but at my hospital all of the administrative offices are operational with the staff working from home.

Reactions: 1 user
other than MCAT and in-person interview everything else can be done remotely. With most ECs suspended, those who already took MCAT actually may be able to submit applications early for next cycle.

Members don't see this ad :)
other than MCAT and in-person interview everything else can be done remotely. With most ECs suspended, those who already took MCAT actually may be able to submit applications early for next cycle.
Yup -- the only real issues right now are whether they are going to make any accommodation for applicants planning to take the MCAT on any of the cancelled dates between now and whenever they resume, and whether or not to start online interviews until in-person ones resume, to do the whole cycle online, or to push back interviews until they can all be conducted in person. So far, no other aspect of the application cycle would require modification due to the crisis (i.e., adcoms can still meet remotely, applications, LORs, transcripts, etc. can be filed, etc.)