Applied in November--no interviews

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Irene Adler

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
All of my secondaries were done by mid-November. I had a 29Q MCAT on my first try and a 3.92 post-bacc G.P.A. (community college) while working full-time.

I've gotten 2 rejections and nothing from the other eleven schools and I'm getting discouraged.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm an Oregon Resident.

I got rejected from U of Rochester and Vanderbilt.

I also applied to OHSU, Creighton, Loyola, Saint Louis, Tulane, NYMC, Drexel, U of Vermont, MCW, Dartmouth and one other that I don't remember. Basically any college that I thought would accept out-of-state, non-traditional applicants (I have a B.S. in theatre and I'm a middle school science teacher right now with a masters.)

Note that the more I present my credentials, the less sure I'm feeling about my chances.

And it appears that I'm on the wrong thread--as this is my first application, but I've been working on it actively for six years (while working full-time) so it feels like I've been doing this forever.

Members don't see this ad :)
You should have applied DO. You would have had much success. Please see my thread in this reapplicants forum entitled "for those reapplying to only allopathic schools"

Irene,

First of all, you have NO reason to be discouraged. You have excellent scores both in GPA and MCAT. I read your list of schools that you applied to, and I admire you for applying to all those competitive schools. The schools that you applied to are not only competitive schools, but they also have thousands of applicants to choose from. Dont be discouraged because you have been rejected to only two. My philosophy is No News is Good News.