Apply 2011 or wait?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hello. I am an international student studying in the United States. I want to eventually get an MD and an MPH. My original plan was to apply for dual MD/MPH programs, however I have recently been considering doing the MPH first to strengthen my application. I feel that the extra time would hopefully strengthen my application by - including my hopefully better senior year grades to raise my sGPA, give me more time for shadowing and clinical volunteering and better LORs. My question is whether or not you think I have a fairly strong app now to apply MD/MPH or wait and do MPH first?
My stats at the end of this semester (hopefully):
cGPA ~ 3.76
sGPA ~ 3.51
MCAT ~ >32
Non-clinical Volunteering & Tutoring ~ about 100hrs and a couple Spring Break Trips
Study Abroad in South Africa.
Non-clinical employment in hospitals in my home country as well as some shadowing.
Independent research project in my home country at a blood bank over summer and winter break 2010.
Orgo Lab TA ~ 1yr.
I will be shadowing a couple doctors this semester and doing an unpaid public health type internship in a hospital.
I plan on writing a Senior Thesis in Anthropology which would be public health related as well as doing some sort of paid internship experience or research this summer.
I have also done a couple other random ECs that I may include in my app.

Members don't see this ad.

Hello. I am an international student studying in the United States.
Do you have a green card? It is my understanding that the bar is very much higher (not to mention that you need to have all quarter million dollars up front) if not.

Do you have a green card? It is my understanding that the bar is very much higher (not to mention that you need to have all quarter million dollars up front) if not.

Agree. not exactly sure but 3.8+ sGPA?

Members don't see this ad :)