Apply for Medical School & SMP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

daZ3d

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I am currently a 3rd year undergraduate who has recently decided not to apply for medical school this year. Due to my mediocre GPA of 3.1, I wanted to hold off until senior year to apply. I am planning to take the MCAT on July 8, 2010 and see how I will perform. If needed, I will take it again early next year during the second semester of my senior year. So, here is a question I couldn't find addressed (or maybe I wasn't looking hard enough :p).

I am under the assumption that students apply for SMP during their senior years (early second semester?). I would like to apply for SMP during the required times and medical school around June 2011. If I get accepted into a SMP and into medical school, how will I approach this situation?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone. I am currently a 3rd year undergraduate who has recently decided not to apply for medical school this year. Due to my mediocre GPA of 3.1, I wanted to hold off until senior year to apply. I am planning to take the MCAT on July 8, 2010 and see how I will perform. If needed, I will take it again early next year during the second semester of my senior year. So, here is a question I couldn't find addressed (or maybe I wasn't looking hard enough :p).

I am under the assumption that students apply for SMP during their senior years (early second semester?). I would like to apply for SMP during the required times and medical school around June 2011. If I get accepted into a SMP and into medical school, how will I approach this situation?

You weren't looking hard enough :(

Anyway I think the answer is pretty obvious to your last question. You turn down the SMP and go to medical school.