Applying for a job as a pharm tech

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jeyremc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am 18 years old and never worked at a pharmacy, or have any job experience. My question is, can I work as a pharmacy technician at cvs without any previous experience or schooling? Are there any specific educational requirements in becoming one? I will be attending a 6 year pharmacy school in the fall.

Members don't see this ad.

I am 18 years old and never worked at a pharmacy, or have any job experience. My question is, can I work as a pharmacy technician at cvs without any previous experience or schooling? Are there any specific educational requirements in becoming one? I will be attending a 6 year pharmacy school in the fall.

i think you need a liscence.. but since you will be a pharm student.. that might be different. bc i know for some schools, if you are a student, you are considered a tech.. but i dont know about a 6 year program...

I'm in the same situation and from my experience...you can. The pharmacy that you are hired to can train you...the pay is a little higher if you get certified, but most pharmacies don't really require it.

Members don't see this ad :)
I think it depends on the state. Check your state's requirements.

i agree with the above posts... but i am wondering if you asked a more specific question than you intended. if you would like to gain experience in a pharmacy-- even without prior experience-- you can definitely begin working in a pharmacy assisting pharmacists and pharmacy technicians. as time goes on, you may learn many things that will qualify you to work as a tech. depending on where you live you will need to be certified by a test and/or acquiring X amount of hours in a pharmacy.