Applying from a foreign medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doctortobe1999

Reaction score
I am currently a 3rd-year medical student in Asia. I was wondering can sb in my situation get into medical school in the US or Canada?
If it is possible what are the requirements?
During my high school years, my GPA was 4 in one of the top schools and I have a 3.8 GPA in med school which is also the best med school in my country. I also have research experience with one publication.

Members don't see this ad.

As an international student you will need to take most (if not all, depending on the school) required courses for matriculation at an English speaking country university. Also, you will need at least three letters of recommendation written in English, to take the MCAT , have volunteer experiences (both in and out of the clinic) , and write killer essays.

It is an uphill battle to get an acceptance , and more so as an international student. Why do you wish to transfer (very few schools even accept transfers, much less from an international one) to or study in the US if you are already (as you said) at the top school of your country?

Reactions: 2 users
agree with the post above.

for you a better option might be to excel in your school, get your MD degree, and come here for residency.

Reactions: 4 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Is this even a thing? I thought US med schools don't accept applications from students who have previously attended medical school, and that the only path for foreign med students was through residency.

They certainly wont accept any transfer students from a foreign medical student, which I think is what the OP was implying. But there is nothing stopping a student from applying through the normal path. This would mean having the required prereqs and number of US UG college credits. Essentially it would be starting over.