Applying in 8 months..what to do until then?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tayloreve

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Howdy SDN!

So right now I am a junior and I will be applying to dental school in June 2013. I know it may seem like a ways away, but I know that day will be here quicker than it seems. I'm trying not to think about it too much, but I just wanted to see what all I can do in that time to prepare.

I have a 4.0 GPA but I have yet to take the DAT :( I studied for it all summer but I panzied out and didn't take it haha. I'm going to try and take it sometime before April definitely. I have over 100 shadowing hours, going to try and get a few more. I'm a lot more involved on campus this year, and trying to get more volunteer hours (because I basically did nothing freshman year).

Besides shadowing & volunteering, is there anything else I should be doing? I'm soooo nervous about the end of this school year, and definitely want to do everything in power to make my application as strong as possible.

Any advice would be appreciated:)

Members don't see this ad.

Work on your personal statement and have it done and ready to go before the cycle opens up. My personal statement was written long before I did my application but it needed a ton of revisions before I was truly happy. Just get lot's of opinions on it before you finalize it.

Stay far away from sdn and you should have a healthy senior year :D

Members don't see this ad :)
Howdy SDN!

So right now I am a junior and I will be applying to dental school in June 2013. I know it may seem like a ways away, but I know that day will be here quicker than it seems. I'm trying not to think about it too much, but I just wanted to see what all I can do in that time to prepare.