Applying later with more courses vs applying earlier with fewer

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Spriteling

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a non-traditional applicant who will hopefully be applying during the 2014-2015 application cycle. My situation is somewhat unique in the fact that I'm an American citizen and resident, but I did my undergraduate degree (in physics/mathematics) in the United Kingdom. Starting this spring, I'll be taking the required biology/chemistry/organic chemistry courses at a US institution. By mid-July, I will only have completed 2 semesters worth of courses in the US; these should include chemistry II (as I have credits from chem I) and lab, biology I and lab, introduction to microbiology, psychology, sociology, organic I and lab and possibly human biology I. I would be in the process of taking biology II and lab, analytic chemistry, orgo II and lab. Would the benefit of applying in July outweigh the benefit of having more grades on my transcript and sending in my primary in mid-August?

Members don't see this ad.