Apr 6, 2010
Status
Hi everyone, I was wondering if you can give me some feedback regarding the chances I have in getting into medical school since I'm already in the midst of applying. Thanks a lot!

I graduated from a small liberal arts/all woman's college last May (one of the seven-sisters schools). I was a Neuroscience and Behavior major with a minor in Anthropology. My undergraduate cumulative GPA was a 3.54. My science GPA was a 3.3 and my non-science GPA was a 3.8.

I took the MCAT for the first time this past January and got a 23O. It's a very disappointing score especially for the amount of time I spend studying, but i will be retaking it this May. I was really anxious the first time around and believe that was my major setback for what happened in Jan. My goal is to get somewhere between 30-33.

Extracurricular activities:
In college,
- Volunteered as an EMT-B on college campus for 3 years
- Secretary for Medical Emergency Response Team
- Co-captain for an Indian dance team
- Treasurer for another cultural club
- Tutor & lab assistant for a statistics class

Research experiences:
- Neuroscience research at BU Med
- Neurobio research at Yale Med (scholarship from college)
- Independent research for a semester in college
- unfortunately, no publications...but working on illustrations for my current PI's book and possible abstract submittions after med school application has been submitted

Clinical:
- worked as an admin in med records dpt in high school
- shadowed doctors and nurses in a health clinic for a month (40hrs/wk)
- EMT-B
- TA'ed an EMT-B class

Currently:
- working as a research assistant for a noted surgeon
- on an Indian dance team
- volunteering at a place that provides shelter and food for homeless women

Other facts:
- first generation college graduate
- Chinese (American born)
- family income is below 300% of poverty level

Would appreciate any feedback! Thanks! :)

Sep 4, 2006
Inside the tesseract