Applying this cycle - When to submit AMCAS?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Neuronah

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am applying to med school this upcoming cycle. Application submission is soon approaching, and I'm wondering... when should I submit?

I have all my pre-med requirements done except for Physics 2 + lab, which I'll be done with on June 25th. I also won't be taking the MCAT until July 24th, and my committee letter won't be sent in until mid June.. maybe even later.

My GPA isn't stellar (~3.5), but I went to a top 10 school. Other than my MCAT, Physics class, and committee letter, I am ready with everything else and could potentially submit my application the day that it opens.

What do you recommend? Waiting until later in June to submit? Or submitting ASAP?

I am also a non-traditional student working full time in addition to taking classes.. if that makes a difference.

Thanks all :)

Members don't see this ad.

Since you won't have your MCAT score until the end of August, there's no need to submit as soon as possible. However, so that you can ensure that you are verified by the time your MCAT score comes in, try to have your AMCAS submitted by the end of June. If you think your application is 100% ready, go ahead and submit whenever you'd like. But if your essays could still use some improvement, you have some time.

Since you don't know your MCAT, you should submit AMCAS with just one school so that you can enter the verification queue. When you get your MCAT score, you can then add on more schools as you see fit.