1. What do you find most helpful? Give us your feedback on the 2019 SDN Member Survey to help further the SDN mission (and win prizes!)
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice

Applying to civilian residencies post GMO/FS

Discussion in 'Military Medicine' started by flightdoc165, Feb 26, 2007.

1. flightdoc165

2+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    I am currently a Navy flight surgeon and am planning on filling my HPSP 4 yr commitment as a flight surgeon--I have 3 years down (or will this June, at least), and am eligible to separate from the military Summer 2008. I will therefore be applying to civilian residencies this coming year. I was wondering if anyone on this forum had any experience with this, and if so, if you could share what it was like. Do you think your experience as a military GMO was looked on favorably by programs, or did the fact that you had been out of GME for several years negatively impact your application? Did you apply strictly through ERAS and go through the match, or did you match outside the match? Did they make you repeat your internship? Any guidance/advice/input on the process would be greatly appreciated by myself, as well as the many HPSPers in GMOland currently who are in the same boat. Thanks!

2. OP
    OP
    flightdoc165

2+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    I was a surgical intern, and am planning on applying for PM&R. But I'd rather this discussion not be specialty specific, but more of a general discussion of applying to civilian residencies post GMO-time. Although I understand that some residencies may be more open to the whole GMO thing than others.

3. HumptyDumptyMil

HumptyDumptyMil Almost done...
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student