Applying to MSTP with a master's

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nutate

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So...I have a tricky situation and was looking for some input regarding the best path forward. I was a PhD student in biology at a top school but ended up leaving with a master's because I did not pass my qual. This was due to political and logistical issues, not aptitude. I have good performance in my coursework and I will have a letter from my adviser and a supportive letter from the grad program director. However, I think the stigma of failure will cling to me no matter what, and mentioning drama will make me look like a problem student.

Even though I'm very upset by this turn of events, I want to continue my pursuit of becoming a physician-scientist. So, I intend to apply to medical schools in the coming cycle. I actually applied to MSTP programs a few years ago and got admitted to midtier programs. I had also applied in parallel to the top PhD programs in my field of interest and was admitted to those programs. I was so starstruck by the brand name PhD program that I went off to grad school, intending to get my MD afterwards.

In hindsight, that was obviously a terrible decision, but 22 year olds aren't known for good judgment. My reasoning was that an MD is an MD, but that a brand name PhD was a big deal (I now know a good training environment is waaaay more important). Anyway, I continued taking medically-oriented classes and maintained some clinical volunteering activities, so I am not making this career transition out of the blue.

My main questions are:
1) What (if anything) should I say about my grad school experience? On the one hand, I think that my experience makes me a low-risk PhD student, and I'm still eligible for some fellowships (F30). On the other hand, it will be easier for them to be unsympathetic.